Thursday, March 30, 2023
28.6 C

The 15 African states who abstained in UN vote against Russia

On Thursday, the UN General Assembly in New York overwhelmingly backed a resolution denouncing Russia’s invasion of Ukraine over a year prior.

Fifteen African countries abstained and 28 supported the vote

South Africa, Ethiopia, Algeria, Angola, Burundi, Namibia, Central Africa Republic, Congo-Brazzaville, Gabon, Guinea, Mozambique, Sudan, Togo, Uganda and Zimbabwe abstained in the vote.

The resolution demanded an end to hostilities in Ukraine and the departure of all soldiers. Though not legally binding, the measure has political influence.

141 countries voted in favor, 32 abstained, and seven countries opposed. Africa represented over half of the abstentions.

Eritrea and Mali were the only African countries who voted against.

Senegal, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini and Guinea-Bissau did not take part in the voting.

Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Ghana and Kenya were among the African countries who backed the vote.

Ukraine’s President Volodymyr Zelensky welcomed the resolution which he described as a powerful signal of global support.

Friday marks exactly a year since the full-scale invasion began.

Related stories

The grand jury investigating Donald Trump “will take a month off

According to reports, the grand jury investigating the hush...

Kamala Harris urges global investors to invest into Africa’s development

US Vice President, Kamala Harris, has asked global investors...

Latest stories