Cuneyt Cakir, the Turkish referee who officiated the Nigeria vs. Argentina match has said he doesnâ€™t know why he did not award the Penalty to Nigeria.
There was drama in the World Cup on Tuesday in Group D where Nigeria lost 2-1 to Argentina during their final game at the 2018 World Cup against Russia.
On the 75th minutes, there was a call from Nigerian players for a penalty to be awarded to them but after the referee viewing from the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) screen, he decided not to award the penalty,
According to Super Eagles Captain, John Mikel Obi, the referee admitted that the ball touched the hand of Marcos Rojo in the 82nd minute, but he put up a defence in not awarding the crucial penalty kick.
Speaking at the post-match briefing in St Petersburg, Mikel said: â€œI asked the referee if he thought the ball struck Rojoâ€™s hand and he said â€˜yes; The referee told me that the ball came off Rojoâ€™s head before it hit his hand.â€
Mikel added: â€I then asked Cakur why he didnâ€™t award the penalty to Nigeria, he said: â€˜I donâ€™t know.â€™ That was sad because we checked the match video in the dressing room and it was a clear penalty kick.â€
Argentina has progressed to the next stage of the tournament.