28.2 C
Monday, June 5, 2023


Traitor MPs list fake – Mahama dispels

Related stories

Assin-North by-election: Gyakye Quayson will be crowned winner – Sammy Gyamfi

The communications officer for the National Democratic Congress' (NDC),...

‘Sick’ Alhaji Yakubu summoned by court over Saglemi housing case

The former Chief Director of the Ministry of Water...

Akufo-Addo ‘sacked’ Domelevo to protect Osafo Maafo – Sammy Gyamfi alleges

National Communication Officer for the National Democratic Congress (NDC)...

4 reasons Supreme Court removed Gyakye Quayson as Assin North MP

In a unanimous ruling on May 17, 2023, a...

Parliament determines fate of CJ Justice Torkornoo on Tuesday

The future of Justice Gertrude Araba Esaaba Torkornoo as...

Ho Technical University has not recorded any HIV/AIDS outbreak – GHS

The Volta Regional Health Directorate of Ghana Health Service...

Ghanaian student honoured at George C. Marshall High School Awards

In a remarkable showcase of academic excellence and unwavering...

Agotime Ziope DCE allegedly slaps NPP’s Dzifa Kaledzi with brochure, injures eye

The immediate past Ho Central New Patriotic Party (NPP)...

Dr. Zanetor urges NDC to expel intrusive demons unnoticed during inattention

Zanetor Rawlings, the daughter of former President Flt. Lt....
- Advertisement -

Former President John Dramani Mahama has urged NDC supporters to disregard a list of Minority MPs claimed to have betrayed the party in the approval of ministerial appointees, on social media.

Interacting with delegates at Kanokoare during his tour of the Ellembelle Constituency in the Western Region on Sunday (26 March), Mr Mahama described the list as “fake”.

- Advertisement -

“And so, I am urging all NDC supporters to ignore it”, Mr Mahama said.

The Minority caucus has been heavily criticised for breaking rank to pass all six ministers appointed by President Akufo-Addo.

- Advertisement -

Commenting on the issue Mr Mahama urged disgruntled NDC supporters to remain resolute ahead of the 2024 polls as there “are little battles we have to fight before we go into the main battle. And that is one of those we fought a few days ago”.

“So, you don’t throw the baby away with the bathwater. I urge you all to remain calm because we need them at this crucial moment”, the former President said.

- Advertisement -

Parliament approves all six nominees, two Supreme Court Justices:

Parliament has approved all six ministerial nominees appointed by President Akufo-Addo after a heated debate on Thursday, March 24th, and a tense voting process on Friday, March 25th. Final results declared by Speaker Alban Bagbin showed that all nominees got more than the minimum of 138 votes required, as there were three absentees out of the 275 eligible voters.

Below are the final figures for each nominee:

Total eligible 275

Absentees = 3 

Total valid votes = 272

Hon KT Hammond, Minister for Trade and Industry

Yes = 154 
No = 116 
Rejected = 1 
Abstention = 1 

Bryan Acheampong, Minister for Food and Agriculture 

Yes = 167
No = 98 
Rejected = 1 
Abstention = 3

Stephen Asamoah Boateng, Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs 

Yes = 147
No = 122 
Abstention = 3

Mohammed Amin 

Yes = 152
No = 117 
Rejected = 1 
Abstentions = 2

Osei Bonsu Amoah 

Yes = 149
No = 120
Abesmtion = 2

Stephen Amoah, deputy minister of Trade and Industry 

Yes = 146
No = 123 
Abstentions = 3

There is currently a debate on whether or not to take a vote on the remaining two Supreme Court justice nominees appointed by Akufo-Addo. Out of the four appointed, two have been approved, leaving George Kingsley Koomson, Justice of the Court of Appeal, and Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu, Justice of the High Court.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories