27.2 C
Sunday, June 4, 2023


Parliament approves KT Hammond, Asabee, other Akufo-Addo appointees

Related stories

NPP Presidential Primaries: Joe Ghartey picks nomination forms, pledges to fight poverty

Mr Joe Ghartey, Member of Parliament for Essikadu-Ketan constituency...

Inusah Fuseini labels galamsey as a manifestation of corruption

A former Ranking Member on the Constitutional, Legal and...

Anthrax kills 1 in Binduri, more infected

The Binduri District of the Upper East Region has...

Man’s body recovered days later after drowning with car

Body of a yet-to-be-identified man has been retrieved from...

Sam George, Nigerian gay pastor face off on Twitter

The lawmaker for Ningo Prampram, Sam Nartey George has...

NABCO Coordinator forced to sell salt for survival as program collapses and arrears remain unpaid

Former Abuakwa North Municipal Coordinator of Nation Building Corps...

Ghana’s Basic Education teeters on the brink of collapse – Dr Apaak warns

Dr. Clement Apaak, the Member of Parliament for Builsa...

Drama unfolds as paternity test reveals man is not father of a child

A young woman believed to be in her early...

KNUST ranked world best in quality education by Times Higher Education Impact Ranking

The Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST)...
- Advertisement -

Parliament has approved all six ministerial nominees recently appointed by President Akufo-Addo.

The six nominees include Member of Parliament for Adansi Asokwa, Kobina Tahiru (K.T) Hammond, who is to head the Trade Ministry; Abetifi MP, Brian Acheampong, who is to head the Food and Agriculture Ministry; MP for Karaga, Mohammed Amin Adam, who has been appointed the Minister of State at the Finance Ministry; Nhyiaeso MP, Stephen Asamoah Boateng who is man the affairs of the Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs.

- Advertisement -

Others are former Deputy Minister at the Trade Ministry, Mr Hebert Krapah, who is now heading to the Energy Ministry as Deputy Minister; Dr Stephen Amoah who has been appointed the Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry and MP for Akuapem South, Osei Bonsu Amoah, who has been appointed Minister of State at the Local Government and Rural Development Ministry.

Their appointments were approved after a secret ballot in the House on Friday, March 24, 2023, following a series of heated debates.

- Advertisement -

The Minority had earlier threatened to reject the approval of President Akufo-Addo’s appointees due to the size of his government.

However, the Majority was also of the view that the nominees needed to be approved to facilitate the work of the government. The back and forth resulted in a request for the nominees to be approved by secret ballot, which was eventually conducted after some hesitation from some MPs.

- Advertisement -

At the end of the ballot all six nominees has amassed enough votes to qualify them for their positions.

The Speaker announced that 154 people voted ‘Yes’ in favor of K.T Hammond’s appointment while 116 people voted to reject the appointment. There was one rejected ballot and an abstention.

“Bryan Acheampong amassed 167 ‘Yes’ votes, 98 ‘Nos’ , 4 rejected ballots and 3 abstentions.” Stephen Asamoah Boateng also had 147 votes in his favor, 122 ‘Nos’ 3 abstentions, with Mohammed Amin Adam acquiring 142 ‘Yes’ votes, 117 ‘Nos,’ 1 rejected ballot and 2 abstentions,” he continued.

“Hon OB Amoah also had 149 ‘Yes’ in his favor, 120 ‘Nos’ against his appointment, 3 abstentions and Dr Stephen Amoah had 146 ‘Yes’ in his favor, 123 ‘Nos’ with 3 abstentions,” the Speaker added.


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories